Spring equinox

I’m down in the valley
fingering the fat furry pods
of lupins
and up above in a cave
people have gathered
I hear them singing.

I wonder if I could
piggyback my pleas
on their prayers
but then I see that god is here
in the plump seeds
and in the wind that sets
my teeth on edge
like bad chalk
on a blackboard.

it’s a fine time to climb a mountain
to be closer to heaven,
or to be a tadpole tumbling
in a river swollen
by late rains,
while the full moon hides
behind the sun’s skirts
waiting for dark.

4 Responses to “Spring equinox”


  1. 1 John Looker September 21, 2016 at 8:54 am

    I’m a great fan of your poetry, Kalila. This is another that is beautifully observed, spoken so naturally, and thought-provoking as well as delightful.

  2. 3 Thomas Davis December 9, 2016 at 10:49 pm

    I just came here because I saw your link on John Looker’s site. John, to me, is one of the better poets writing in the world today. I often pay attention to what he’s up to when it comes to poetry.
    This is just an outstanding poem. I’ll be back here in the future. The central message of the poem, of course, is in:

    I wonder if I could
    piggyback my pleas
    on their prayers
    but then I see that god is here
    in the plump seeds
    and in the wind that sets
    my teeth on edge
    like bad chalk
    on a blackboard

    It is a good day to climb a mountain.


Leave a Reply

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers


