Restart

Sometimes it seems
we don’t talk much
any more
the words have lost their way
teeth in a glass
spectacles next to the bed
when did it happen
where was I?

Sometimes it seems
pain could be truth
to hit my head
against the wall
not merely stub my toe
again and again
blood on the sheets.

Sometimes it seems
the world is sagging
like the springs of this bed
white paint flakes are dandruff
on the green stoop
the curtains are faded
the garden abandoned,
when did it happen
where was I?

2 Responses to “Restart”


  1. 1 John Stevens December 19, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    There are many lines in this that I like – it’s the simplicity and resonance of details such as the springs sagging in the bed – but especially I note that little refrain: “when did it happen/ where was I?” So well put.

  2. 2 Kalila December 19, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Thank you John, it’s been a long time since I posted, good to get your feedback. The end of the poem was really hard to find – it took many discarded endings before I realised that I could use those two lines again instead of finding something else, so I’m glad to hear it works.


Leave a Reply

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers


